Assault/Aggravated Assault
Home » Criminal Defense » Assault/Aggravated Assault

Charged With Assault? I Can Help.

I am James Angelino, an experienced defense attorney serving clients in Collin, Denton and Dallas counties. As a former police officer and prosecutor, I know how the state builds cases against people accused of assault and other violent crimes. I also know how to dismantle those cases for the benefit of my valued clients.

I can defend you against any violent criminal charge in Texas, including:

  • Assault: Class C: Punishable up to a $500 fine.
  • Assault: Class A: Punishable up to one year in the County Jail and up to a $4,000 fine.
  • Aggravated assault: Second-degree felony: Punishable from two to 20 years in the Texas Department of Corrections and up to a $10,000 fine.
  • Aggravated assault with a deadly weapon: First-degree felony: Punishable from five to 99 years and/or life in the Texas Department of Corrections and up to a $10,000 fine.

Assault offenses concern the use of force to injure another or to make offensive contact. These charges can be a misdemeanor or felony depending on the seriousness. If you cause serious bodily injury or use a deadly weapon while committing an assault, your punishment range is greatly increased, with the chances of going to the penitentiary being pretty high. If you have been arrested for one of these charges, you need to contact a criminal defense attorney who has your best interest in mind.

Standing Up For Those Accused Of Family Violence

In the last 10 years or so there has been an increased interest in prosecuting family violence offenses. Every District Attorney’s Office in the metroplex has a section dedicated to prosecuting family violence cases. Most of the time, because of the political nature of the cases, the prosecutors are fanatical. There are very serious consequences to a family violence conviction. On a conviction with a finding of family violence, you could lose your right to possess a firearm. If it’s a second misdemeanor family violence case, it could be enhanced to a felony.

You must have an attorney who is ready to mount an aggressive defense on your behalf if you have been charged with the crime of assault. There are many defenses to the charge of assault. You need a knowledgeable attorney who can advise you on what defenses may be available to you. Some defenses include, but are not limited to intoxication, self-defense, consent and the protection of a third party.

I Believe In My Clients

I will vigorously represent you in this case. With my background as a former prosecutor and police officer, I know the prosecutor’s tactics and am quick to counter. I work tirelessly to obtain the best result possible for my clients. Call my law office today at 972-943-6260 or contact me online to arrange a confidential legal consultation.