Theft is defined as the taking of property from someone without their consent. Examples of this are shoplifting or writing a bad check. If you intend to permanently keep what you take, it’s a theft. The type of charge you receive is based on the value of the items that were stolen. A theft of an item worth less than $50 will result in a Class C misdemeanor and a fine not to exceed $500. A theft of property worth over $200,000, will result in a first-degree felony charge which could land you up to life in prison. The following is a range of values and the criminal charges associated with those item values:
- Less than $50 – Class C misdemeanor: Up to a $500 fine.
- $50 – $500 – Class B misdemeanor: Up to 180 days in County Jail and up to a $2000 fine.
- $500 – $1,500 – Class A misdemeanor: Up to 1 year in the County Jail and up to a $4000 fine.
- $1,500 – $20,000 – State jail felony: 180 days to 2 years in a State Jail Facility, and up to a $10,000 fine.
- $20,000 – $100,000 – Third-degree felony: 2 years to 10 years in the Texas Department of Corrections and up to a $10,000 fine.
- $100,000 – $200,000 – Second-degree felony: 2 years to 20 years in the Texas Department of Corrections and up to a $10,000 fine.
- $200,000 or more – First-degree felony: 5 years to 99 years and or Life in the Texas Department of Corrections and up to a $10,000 fine
If you’ve been arrested and charged with theft, you need legal representation you can count on. Theft is considered a crime of moral turpitude which can have long lasting effects. Even a Class C theft conviction can haunt you for the rest of your life. At the Law Offices of James Angelino, we care about our clients and their concerns. We have the legal expertise you need to get your case dismissed and the charges dropped.
James Angelino is an aggressive criminal defense attorney who has practiced in courts all over the Metroplex. He is an ex-police officer and prosecutor who knows the intricacies of these types of cases. Call (972) 377-0088 for a free consultation.