Protecting Your Texas Driver’s License
In Texas, a DWI case runs along two parallel tracks:
- The criminal proceedings of determining if a suspect is guilty of committing a drunk driving offense
- The administrative proceeding called an Administrative License Revocation, or ALR, wherein the state seeks to suspend the suspect’s driving privileges
When defending against a DWI charge, it is important to hire an attorney who understands the nuances of both of these critical legal proceedings. For many people, a driver’s license is crucial to maintaining an enjoyable quality of life. For some, their very livelihood depends upon it.
I am James Angelino, a DWI defense attorney in Frisco, handling cases in Collin, Denton and Dallas counties and throughout surrounding areas. As a former police officer and prosecutor, I understand all aspects of DWI cases, including ALR proceedings. I know how to fight and how to win, and I have helped numerous clients maintain their driving privileges in the face of serious drunk driving allegations.
What To Expect At An ALR Hearing
The ALR hearing is presided over by an administrative judge who will hear your case and render a decision. The arresting officer and other parties pertinent to the investigation may also be present.
This is your opportunity to present a case for why your driver’s license should not be suspended. If there were errors in police procedure, such as an arrest without probable cause or improperly administered breath or field sobriety tests, your hearing is the chance to bring these issues to light.
You should make the absolute most of this opportunity, which is why it is important to have an experienced defense lawyer on your side. My background in DWI arrest protocols allows me to uncover and expose weaknesses of the state’s case against you. Such information can be crucial in obtaining a favorable outcome in an ALR hearing.
Act Today To Protect Your Driver’s License
You must not delay in contesting a license suspension. You have 15 days after receiving notice of the suspension to request a hearing. If you do not respond within 15 days, your Texas driver’s license will be suspended.