When may theft offenses classify as felonies under Texas law?
  1. Home
  2.  » 
  3. Criminal Defense
  4.  » When may theft offenses classify as felonies under Texas law?

When may theft offenses classify as felonies under Texas law?

On Behalf of | Dec 27, 2022 | Criminal Defense

If law enforcement officials allege that you or a loved one took goods valued between $2,500 and $30,000, they could file felony charges. According to Chapter 31 of the Texas Penal Code, theft of property worth at least $2,500 may result in a felony theft charge.

In some cases, taking property worth less than $2,500 may also qualify as a state-level felony offense. If a defendant received a previous theft conviction, regardless of the amount, officials may elevate an additional theft charge to a felony.

Prosecutors may file felony charges based on alleged “serial theft” activity

Items with a low individual value may lead to a felony charge if taken on separate occasions. As reported by FOX 44 News, a Texas resident made four separate trips to a Waco store over a four-month period and allegedly took a total of goods valued in the hundreds of dollars. The number of times the alleged separate thefts occurred, however, led prosecutors to file felony theft charges despite the total value of goods taken remaining less than $2,500.

Properties that may automatically classify as a felony offense

Regardless of financial value, law enforcement may file state-level felony charges for taking certain items. An alleged theft of an official carrier envelope or ballot used for an election could lead to officials filing state-level felony theft charges.

Property taken from a gravesite, military grave marker or human corpse classifies as a felony offense in Texas. A conviction may result in penalties such as incarceration in a state jail. Under the Lone Star State’s laws, theft involving guns or an explosive device could also bring felony charges.