If you have been charged with a drug crime in Texas, you are facing numerous concerns and fears. One of the most significant concerns for most people in this situation involves punishment. What does a conviction look like? Will I go to jail? What are the fines?
Texas takes drug crime charges extremely seriously. Whether you are charged with possession of small or large quantities, of extremely dangerous drugs or very simple prescription medications or chemical compounds, you could be facing significant fines and even incarceration. Further, a conviction for a crime like this would stay on your permanent record, hindering your ability to get better employment and housing.
Do not take these charges lightly. An inexperienced lawyer or an overworked public defender might not give you the vigorous defense you need. Do whatever you can to mount a strong defense against drug crime charges.
In Texas, drug crimes are divided into four different penalty groups. Penalty group 1 is the most serious, and successively the seriousness goes down to the least serious in penalty group 4.
- Penalty group 1: These are the most serious drug crimes, involving dangerous and addictive drugs like heroin and cocaine. Even a first offense for possessing less than a gram of a penalty group 1 drug could bring up to two years in jail and $10,000 in fines.
- Penalty group 2: Amphetamines, ecstasy and PCP fall into penalty group 2, which, like penalty group 1 drug crimes, is considered a state felony that can result in the same jail time and fines.
- Penalty group 3: Most stimulants fall into penalty group 3. The fines can reach up to $4,000, combined with up a year incarceration for a conviction.
- Penalty group 4: Penalty group 4 involves prescription drugs and controlled substances. A class B misdemeanor, penalty group 4 drug charge convictions result in up to six months of jail time and up to $2,000 in fines.
Clearly, these are all serious charges. You should not take this situation lightly. Do everything you can to avoid a conviction.